Oops, a daisy!

by Kristina S.

When I was in my early teens I came across the expression ‘Oops, a daisy!’ for the first time. It was written across a baby black tee (a 90s thang) in an organic handwritten script. I come from a non-English speaking background and I had no idea what it meant. I thought ‘how random, why would someone be oopsing about a daisy?’ What a curious saying!

I imagined an innocent soul skipping along and suddenly stumbling on what a little flower. Pleasantly surprised with her discovery, she then blissfully exclaims ‘Ooops, a daisy!’ She might pick it up and tuck it behind her ear, or she might just continue on skipping in good spirits from her daisy encounter.

That piece of imagination was how I saw the world before I became an adult. It was made up of happy accidents, much like unexpectedly stumbling upon a daisy. Somewhere down the track then I grew up and I grew around my inner child. The world became a bit dull and expected. Tired of feeling listless, I decided that I would wake my sleeping inner child and see her world from her eyes again.

That is why I decided to start this. I want to remember what brings me wonder and what fills me with joy. It’s about my journey with my inner child because she can lead me to where I need to be.


when life gives you daisies, make a daisy chain

All I see is daisies!

x

